Thursday, November 19, 2009

I LOVE IT HERE!!!





Sorry i didnt blog yesterday... but we pretty much did the same thing that we did the day before. We are loving the "cool" weather. its so nice! The people here are all wearing sweathshirts like its winter. But to us its perfect. Yesterday we went to the orphanage and did some more music and sewing projects. when we were done their we went to the other orphanage. CPCDO i think its called. We brought them some fruit, and Amber, Lori and Sally all did some mending on their clothes. I got to know some of the girls their. They taught me how to count to ten. I also held some of the babies. But its kinda scary to do that because they dont have diapers on and they are all sick. But i did anyways. Its just so sad their. When people give them things they sell them for money. Like Amber said, if they have too much stuff then they wont look poor anymore and then nobody will help them. that just disgusts me... and we all agree. When we were their Amber had two rats run right by her feet. This place is disgusting and dirty. The little girl that was in the picture the other day, when we got there she had a little piece of a coconut in her hand. there was nothing on it but she was still picking away at it trying to get every last piece off of it. Its so sad. Today we went to the Sovanapoom again. I read the kids a story. the story about the good samaritian. when they were done they took a break. When they left me and peak (the teacher) played some music together on the piano. He wanted me to show him a song. So i did and then he played some. He thought i was really good but i thought he was really good. We just play two different ways. He is just another Fred. He can play anything he puts his hands on. When they do worship everyday, he plays the guitar. He memorizes the chords. Hes really good. And on sunday for church he played the piano and sang. Jereimiah, hes 12, is also like a little fred. He can play everything. On sunday he was playing the drums. He was SOOO good. Hes so cute. All the kids are cute. I love em' all!
PS. Look closely at the cow. They are a little skinny! Thats how they all are here. And the sign of the bathrooms i just thought was funny. This is the first bathroom anywhere in public i have seen. And in the bathroom they had little pieces of cloth to dry your hands off with. They dont believe in papertowls. And i have only seen two garbage cans while we have been here. They just throw their garbage on the floor or ground!

2 comments:

  1. Shelb-LOVE the bathroom sign! Funny how differently we all communicate! Sad to hear about theorphanage though. Some people have such a wicked, warped since of mind Still praying! hugs!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I love the bathroom sign! Hold some babies for me too! That just makes me cry. Keep up the good work Shelby :) Kayla's been reading your blog too :) Take care and lots of prayers sent your way! Luv ya!!!!!!!

    ReplyDelete