Saturday, November 14, 2009

first day in Cambodia





















I LOVE THIS PLACE!!! Ok so I decided that if I could fit in here I would live here. The problem is that everyone here stares and you stand out. it’s a bummer. If I could just die my skin and get brown contacts, maybe it would work!! JK JK! Anyways, today was a full day. But it was awesome! We did a lot and saw a lot! This was our day:
1. Get up at 6:30 ( I woke up and was so worried that I slept in and that they were all waiting for me… but come to find out it was only 6:30 and I only thought it was late because it was 2 oclock in the afternoon where you are)
2. Got ready, ate breakfast, and posted a blog of yesterday
3. While the guys where out eating breakfast we walked to a market. It was not very far away. And it had rained A LOT the night before so there was water everywhere and we had to wear real shoes.
4. I LOVE THE MARKET! Its so cool. I thought that the place was huge! But they informed me that it was a very small one. The food part is really gross and stinky but the everything else is soo cheap and really cool. Its just like going to walmart or Costco. For them that is what it is. I bought some grapes and pear apples. YUMMY!
5. We came back to our apartment and put our stuff away. Dara (The one in the picture with the wesler boys and bell) came and picked us up and we went to Wat phnom. I think it was a temple. Ya it was. There were lots of monkeys, and an elephant. We met this little girl who was selling water and she walked around with us the whole time. Her name was T. there were lots of little kids begging. They followed you around with their hands out asking for money. It was sad but you cant give them any money because their parents take it from them and the kids don’t get any. And T told us not to give them any for that reason. Oh and one other small thing, me and James ate a cricket. IT WAS GROSS! Well the taste wasn’t gross, just the thought of eating it. And it was crunchy. You have to buy everything here in a kilo or half kilo. So we got more than one cricket. We gave the rest to the kids that were begging and the others to the monkeys. Crickets to the people here are like eating Doritos. Kinda weird.
6. We went and ate lunch at a restraunt/spa and it was really yummy! I had a ceasar salad. Then Lori and I went and got a foot massage. I am really ticklish so it was really hard not to laugh sometimes. But other than that it was AMAZING! And it only cost 10 dollars! All of us girls are going to go back on a Sunday sometime and get full body massages! AWESOME! Today was the first massage that I have ever had except from Donnie during Spanish class and Bible study!! LOL!
7.Dara took us to a bigger market. It was HUGE!! You should see all the shoes they have their! The whole top floor is COVERED!!! And the top floor is big! I bought a pair of shoes there for 6 dollars and they are so cute! We went down to the bottom floor. That is where the meat is sold. I really thought that I was going to throw up. It stinks SOO bad. The animals are alive hanging from rope or flopping around on a cutting board. It was way more than I could handle. I think that you all need to come here with me just so that you could really understand all of this. Because I have had it explained to me and it wasn’t anything what I thought it was going to be. You cant quite explain it. Its just so awesome and sad all at the same time.
7. After we left that disgusting place we went to the lucky market. This market is exactly like any store we have here. It has everything that we have, just in a different language.
8. Now we are back at the palace and Lori and Amber are making dinner. I don’t know what it is. Im sure it will be delicious. Tomorrow I think we are going to the orphanage for church. CANT WAIT!!












the pictures are of the first market that we went to, the stairs up to our apartment, the power lines here, Dara and the wesler kids, the begging kids at Wat phnom and Me,Ryan and T.

No comments:

Post a Comment